Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Library has over 6,000 screenplays and other related theatre plays, treatments, and storyboards accessible online and some physical copies at the Library.
Screenplays & Treatments Resources
Alexander Street Press Film Scripts Online
Log in with your LAFS username & password to gain access.
BBC Script Library
The BBC is the world’s leading public service broadcaster. Read BBC TV, Radio, and Film scripts for FREE!
A collection of movie scripts and screenplays to serve as a resource for writers and actors and those who simply enjoy reading movie scripts.
The titular Drew has been sharing scripts with curious readers and writers for almost two decades now and has a vast library from which to choose from. A great benefit of Script-O-Rama is that it holds several drafts of certain movies, an invaluable resource for those who want to see how a Hollywood film evolves in the writing process.
Go Into The Story Screenplays
100+ scripts made available for FREE by studios and production companies.
IMSDB – Internet Movie Screenplay Database
IMDB has proven a valuable resource for researching movie crews, casts, and trivia. IMSDB is just as useful for those looking for screenplays of all kinds and genres for FREE.
Movie Scripts and Screenplays
A bunch of Movie Scripts and Screenplays on the 'net in one location for FREE.
The Screenplay Database
All screenplays are uploaded and can be downloaded for FREE for Educational purposes only and no copyright infringement is intended.
Screenplays for You
A famous collection of FREE movie scripts and screenplays!
Script City sells screenplays that have been produced. They do not sell scripts in development. The scripts are all photocopies of the original draft they have in stock. All of these screenplays are for educational purposes only. No rights are given or implied.
A database of hundreds of FREE downloadable scripts, movie scripts, screenplays, and transcripts of current, classic, and maybe a few soon-to-be-released movies, television, anime, unproduced, and radio shows.
The TV Calling Script Library
You will find here a lot of TV scripts, and occasionally a few pitches, outlines, and bibles (not the religious kind), for FREE.
This site will have plenty of TV screenplays for FREE.
LAFS Library houses unpublished scripts in both feature films and television. Most of these scripts are listed in the Library Catalog by title, so it works best to search by title. Additional unpublished scripts may be available as part of a special collection.
- Search LAFS Library Catalog for Scripts
- Television Shows Represented in Library Catalog
Search and browse scripts in the Library OPAC Catalog.
Published Scripts and Plays are in book format
The LAFS Library has a collection of Newmarket Press Sooting Scripts. Search the Library Catalog for "The Shooting Script."
The LAFS Library collects published scripts! Most are final shooting scripts.
Below are some hints on using the Library Catalog to find script titles:
- If you are looking for a specific title and get too many hits, also search by the name of the screenwriter, or the director.
- Many published scripts (especially for television) have no subject heading at all, and will only have the words "script," "scripts," "film script," "shooting script," or "screenplay" in the title or keywords. You can alternatively do a subject search for the name of a film or program, and this will sometimes produce a title that includes the script.
Search and browse published scripts in the Library OPAC Catalog.
Alexander Street Press Film Scripts Online Database
The LAFS Library has scripts available through the Alexander Street Film Scripts Database. Click and browse through the database to find digital scripts.
Alexander Street Press Film Scripts Online
The Film Scripts Online Series contains over 1,100 scripts and makes available, for the first time, accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Now film scholars can compare the writer’s vision with the producer’s and director’s interpretations from page to screen.
Most scripts in the series have never been published before and are available nowhere else. Alexander Street developed the collection through arrangements with Warner Bros., Sony, RKO, MGM, and other major film studios; rights holders such as Faber & Faber, Newmarket Press, Penguin Putnam, StudioCanal, and Vintage Anchor; and the writers themselves, including Paul Schrader, Lawrence Kasdan, Gus Van Sant, Neil LaBute, Oliver Stone, and many others.