Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collections: Books

All Library Resources

BOOKS

The Library has over 2,000 books! Browse books by type: Non-fiction, Fiction, Biographies, Plays, Published Scripts, Published Storyboards, and Reference. 

Book Resources

eBooks

eBooks are book publications that are made available in digital form, consisting of text, images, or both, readable on the flat-panel display of computers or other electronic devices. You may view our eBook collections through our digital Library Catalog, Koha. 

 

O'Reilly Safari Books Online is available to most LAFS students, depending on your program. Students are given a link to access specific textbooks through their classes in LMS. Once the link is given, students should have access to an eBook collection - as well as over thousands of ebooks!

Please note that this resource is only available to all Active Online Students and On-Campus Entertainment Business Program. Also, Alumni will not have access to this O'Reilly database.

undefined

 

EBSCO eBooks are online versions of print books that the Library has either purchased with a perpetual license or via an annual subscription.

eBooks are available to students upon request. The Library can offer students books from the library as an eBook, by purchasing an eBook in the EBSCO platform (if available) upon request. Students and Faculty can make Purchase Requests in Koha or add Feedback & Suggestions here

COMING SOON!

Books

The Library has over 2,000 Books, including Non-Fiction, Fiction, Biographies, Graphic Novels, Music Sheets, and Reference Books. Other books may include Plays, Screenplays, Storyboards, and Music Scores that are published in a book format. 

Nonfiction is an account or representation of a subject which is presented as fact. This presentation may be accurate or not; that is, it can give either a true or a false account of the subject in question. However, it is generally assumed that the authors of such accounts believe them to be truthful at the time of their composition. Note that reporting the beliefs of others in a nonfiction format is not necessarily an endorsement of the ultimate veracity of those beliefs, it is simply saying that it is true that people believe that (for such topics as mythology, religion). Nonfiction is one of the two main divisions in writing, particularly used in libraries, the other being fiction. However, nonfiction need not be written text necessarily, since pictures and film can also purport to present a factual account of a subject.

The Library’s Non-Fiction collection includes, but is not limited to, the following subjects: Mythology, Self-Help, Business Management, Art & Drawing, Music Theory, Scriptwriting, Directing, Mathematics, Film Editing, Audio Engineering, and Cinematography.

Fiction is the telling of stories that are not real. More specifically, fiction is an imaginative form of narrative, one of the four basic rhetorical modes. Although, the works of fiction need not be entirely imaginary and may include real people, places, and events. Fiction is largely perceived as a form of art or entertainment and is considered to be an aspect of human culture. The Library’s Fiction collection includes, but is not limited to, the following subjects: Literature, Comics, Fantasy, Manga, Mystery & Crime, Poetry, Romance, Science Fiction, Thrillers, and Westerns.

Biographies are non-fictional accounts of a person’s life. Biographies are written by an author who is not the subject/focus of the book. The Library has Biographies that include Memoirs and Autobiographies.

Graphic Novels are narrative works in which the story is conveyed to the reader using sequential art in either an experimental design or in a traditional comics format. Browse over 150 Graphic Novels including Comics, Manga, Storyboards, and more. 

Sheet music is a handwritten or printed form of musical notation that uses musical symbols to indicate the pitches, rhythms, or chords of a song or instrumental musical piece. We have added published Music Scores to our growing library collection of print resources. All library users, specifically music and audio recording, will have access to print sheet music including classics, and recently orchestrated. 

Reference Books are intended to be consulted for information on specific matters rather than reading it from beginning to end. The Library’s Reference Books collection includes Non-Fiction, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Almanacs, Directories, Art & Architecture, Research, Guides, Trivia, Guidebooks, and Special materials. 

Published Screenplays and Storyboards

Screenplays or Scripts are a written work by screenwriters for a film, video game, or television program. These screenplays can be original works or adaptations from existing pieces of writing. In them, the movement, actions, expressions, and dialogues of the characters are also narrated. The Library’s Published Scripts collection includes a variety of scripts from motion picture films and television shows that have been published and made into a book format.

Storyboards are a sequence of drawings, typically with some directions and dialogue, representing the shots planned for a movie or television production. Most of the Library’s Published Storyboards collection are considered for Reference, which means Patrons can only view them at the Library, but a few storyboards are electronically-based.

Plays are a form of literature written by a playwright, usually consisting of scripted dialogue between characters, intended for theatrical performance rather than just reading. The Library has many Classic and Theatre plays.