LibGuides: Collections: Audio &amp; Music

AUDIO & MUSIC

Listen and use over 500 CDs for your school-related projects along with audio and music related databases online.

Digital Audio & Music Databases

The LAFS Library has streaming music resources available through Naxos Music Library and Naxos Video Library Databases. Click and browse through the database to find and listen to digital music files and stream music videos. You may need to log in with your LAFS credentials in order to access this resource.

Naxos Music Library offers the world's largest online classical music library, with streaming access to more than 120,000 CDs of both the standard and rare repertoire in all genres. The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogs plus the complete catalogs or selected titles from over 650 other recording labels, with more labels joining monthly. It also includes some jazz, world, and pop/rock music.

Naxos Video Library is the world's leading performing arts distributor brings you an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances - operas, ballets, concerts, dances, documentaries, and many more. Watch fine productions from the world's greatest opera houses, ballet, and dance companies, orchestras, artists, festivals, and concert halls on demand.

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Only 20 users can use the platform at one time. If no seat is available, you must wait until someone logs off. The most comprehensive classical music streaming platform. An invaluable resource for universities, public libraries, schools, music professionals, and collectors.
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new window
Only 10 users can use the platform at one time. If no seat is available, you must wait until someone logs off. A new and unique streaming video subscription service offering a wide range of full-length videos of concerts, operas, ballets, and documentaries.

The LAFS Library has music resources available through the Hit Songs Deconstructed Database. Click and browse through the database to find articles and analyses about the music industry. You may need to log in with your LAFS credentials in order to access this resource.

Hit Songs Deconstructed is a powerful tool being used in songwriting, production, and music business programs around the world. The platform offers a trove of data, analysis, and interactive tools to help you stay in tune with what’s driving today’s hits at the compositional level. The platform includes song analysis reports and videos, a searchable songwriting techniques archive culled from today's most successful songs, downloadable Logic arrangements for recent hits, trend reports, and much more. For a video overview of the platform, click here.

Hit Songs Deconstructed This link opens in a new window
The platform offers unparalleled insight into the craft and trends behind today’s hit songs and empowers music industry professionals with actionable data and analysis that can't be found anywhere else. Includes: hit song analytics, industry trends, 200+ compositional filters, hit song analysis, downloadable DAWs, and more!

Only available to students enrolled in the Audio and Music programs.

LAFS has audio effects available through the Pro Sounds Effects database. Browse through the database to find digital audio files and download them to use in your projects. You may need to log in with your LAFS credentials in order to access this resource.

Pro Sound Effects (PSE) develops highly curated sound effects libraries for sound artists, editors, designers, audio engineers, media companies, schools, and nonprofits. Their goal is to inspire and empower you to tell any story with the highest quality sounds available.

The LAFS Library has many Audio CDs that you may want to use for school projects. Some CDs are royalty-free but some will require consent from the company.

View CDs collection in Koha

The LAFS Library has many Music Videos (in DVD/Blu-ray formats) that you may want to view.

Audio Resources

Download royalty-free music beats and audio effects for your projects! Some tunes may require you to credit the source.

BBC Sound Effects Library This link opens in a new window
These 16,000 BBC Sound Effects are made available by the BBC in WAV format to download for use under the terms of the RemArc Licence. The sound effects and field recordings from the BBC Archive are available to listen/download and can be used for personal, educational or research-based needs.
Online Resource

Audio Micro
The web’s largest library of micro stock music and sounds will definitely be a helpful resource to bookmark. Sound clips are categorized by type, like amusement and game sounds or animal sounds.
BenSound
You can download royalty-free stock music for YouTube and your multimedia projects. (No remixes.)
Epidemic Sound
Start your free trial & discover world class composers, artists and bands in our library. Join the family of creators using Epidemic Sound & take your content to the next level.
Free Sound Affects
Scroll down to access Free Sound Effects section in the left hand menu. If you need better quality sound effects and a legal license to use in your project then search for royalty free sound effects in the Paid Sound Effects section. A one-time fee gives you a lifetime license for use in as many of your projects as you need. Only the Paid Sound Effects come with a legal license for use.
Partners in Rhyme
Similar to Free Sound Effects, Partners in Rhyme also offers a selection of free sounds as well as premium. They have all sorts of sounds, including lava, earthquake, jungle, city, and more.
Sound Bible
For free sound clips, sound bites, and sound effects, SoundBible.com is a must-visit. With more than 140 pages of clips to choose from, you’re sure to find a sound for you. All sounds are licensed via Creative Commons or are Public Domain.
SoundGator
From ambiance to animals to voice sound effects, SoundGator has an extensive collection of free mp3 clips for use in your projects and presentations.
Sound Jay
Sound Jay offers mostly sound effects, including hover sounds, button clicks, and transportation sounds, but they also have some music to choose from as well.

Streaming Music Resources

Apple Music
Apple Music is a music and video streaming service developed by Apple Inc. Users select music to stream to their device on-demand, or they can listen to existing playlists. Discounts for Student Memberships!
Hoopla Digital: Music
Instantly borrow and stream digital music 24/7 with a library card. You are required to have a Public Library Card from your public library in order to access this free resource.
Pandora
Pandora is a leading music and podcast discovery platform, providing a highly-personalized listening experience to approximately 70 million users each month with its proprietary Music Genome Project® and Podcast Genome Project® technology - whether at home or on the go - through its mobile app, the web, and integrations with more than 2,000 connected products.
SoundCloud
SoundCloud lets people discover and enjoy the greatest selection of music from the most diverse creator community on earth. In addition, you can upgrade to SOUNDCLOUD GO+ for a price (there are discounts for students).
Spotify
Free music streaming with ads. Upgrade to Premium for a price per month. In addition, there are discounts for Student Memberships.
YouTube Music
YouTube Music is a music streaming service developed by YouTube, a subsidiary of Google. It provides a tailored interface for the service, oriented towards music streaming, allowing users to browse through songs and music videos on YouTube based on genres, playlists, and recommendations.

Music Resources

Learn more about the music industry, get insights from your favorite artists.

Hit Songs Deconstructed This link opens in a new window
The platform offers unparalleled insight into the craft and trends behind today’s hit songs and empowers music industry professionals with actionable data and analysis that can't be found anywhere else. Includes: hit song analytics, industry trends, 200+ compositional filters, hit song analysis, downloadable DAWs, and more!
International Music Score Library Project This link opens in a new window
The International Music Score Library Project, also known as the Petrucci Music Library after publisher Ottaviano Petrucci, is a subscription-based project for the creation of a virtual library of public-domain music scores.
Online Resource
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Only 20 users can use the platform at one time. If no seat is available, you must wait until someone logs off. The most comprehensive classical music streaming platform. An invaluable resource for universities, public libraries, schools, music professionals, and collectors.
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new window
Only 10 users can use the platform at one time. If no seat is available, you must wait until someone logs off. A new and unique streaming video subscription service offering a wide range of full-length videos of concerts, operas, ballets, and documentaries.

Classical Archives
Classical Archives is the largest (and oldest) classical music site in the world. The site was inaugurated in 1994, during the web’s infancy, to offer the most extensive collection of classical music MIDI files. We added live recordings 2001 and have continued to grow ever since. As you can see from the statistics above, we now have over 1,000,000 tracks from over 690 labels. These recordings represent the works of close to 20,000 composers. The site is refreshed weekly with the addition of newly released albums, from which our musicologists carefully prepare a list of selected recommendations.
Fiverr Freelance
Hire a freelancer audio mastering expert services and get your audio project done in 24hr
Mr. Mix and Master
Mr. Mix and Master offers radio-ready quality mixing and mastering services at the world’s most affordable rates. Our multi-platinum mix and master audio engineer, Vinny DeLeon, will take your music to the next level.
Music Theory
Introductory and intermediate music theory lessons, exercises, ear trainers, and calculators.
NAMM Foundation
Sign Up To Receive The NAMM Foundation’s Monthly Email Newsletter. Music Advocacy. Music Education. Music Research. Believe in Music. Music Grants.
Sound Better
SoundBetter is the world’s leading music production marketplace, helping musicians worldwide connect and hire top music pros so they can get to great-sounding release-ready songs. With tens of thousands of top Singers, Producers, Songwriters, Session Musicians and Mixing & Mastering Engineers, including dozens of Grammy award winners, SoundBetter has the most comprehensive database of vetted music production pros for direct hire in the world, and a member community spanning over 14,000 cities worldwide.