Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collections: Films

All Library Resources

FILMS

Discover more than 2,500 motion picture films and television series on DVD, Blu-ray, or electronically (eVideos). The Motion Picture collections include: Motion Picture Feature Films, Animation, Documentaries, Music Films, TV Series, Informational, and Student Films.

Streaming Video Resources

This library guide highlights free educational streaming movies, tv shows, and clips that you can view in your courses or use for research.

Copyright Protection: Streaming videos and audios cannot be downloaded to your computer. The owners of the content give you the right to view or listen to the files in real-time. However, the rights to save, copy or distribute the files are held by the copyright owner and protected by law.

Fair Use: As long as you view or listen to these files as part of a class session or by yourself, you are covered under fair use.  

Public Performance: We do not have public performance rights for any of these streaming videos or audios. For example, a group of students who watch one of these videos during a college student club or organizational meeting would not be covered under fair use. That would be considered a public performance.

See Swank's brochure, "Film and Video Copyright Infringement: What Your College or University Needs to Know About the Public Performance of Movies," for more information.

eVideos

eVideos or Streaming Media are constantly received by and presented to an end-user while being delivered by a provider. Streaming refers to the delivery method of the medium, rather than the medium itself. You can watch the available eVideos right from your home with any electronic device (computer, tablet, phone, etc). You may need to log in with your LAFS credentials in order to access the eVideos. 

Image result for swank digital campus

Swank Digital Campus provides Faculty with legal movie streaming videos to students inside or outside of the classroom to enhance any lesson. Swank has a wide variety of videos including feature films, documentaries, foreign films, and TV shows. Videos may need to be purchased by the Library if budget allows. Only Staff may request videos to use for their class if the Library does not yet have them in the collection. Log in with your LAFILM email and password to view Swank's video collection. 

 

Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that is available for LAFS students and staff. The Early Film and Short Film packages are available to stream on Kanopy. Videos may need to be purchased by the Library through Kanopy if budget allows. Both Students and Staff may request videos on the Kanopy site if the Library does not yet have them in the collection. Log in with your LAFILM email and password to view this database.   

LinkedIn Learning is an American website offering video courses taught by industry experts in software, creative, and business skills.

DVDs & Blu-rays

          

We have over 2,000 films in our video collection. The formats DV,  Blu-ray, and eVideos. Search the Library Catalog by movie title or author! 

Genres of Motion Picture collection: 

Features Films (Recent Releases & Classics)

  • Action
  • Comedy
  • Drama
  • Fantasy
  • Horror
  • Mystery
  • Romance
  • Thriller

Animation

TV Series

Documentaries/Biopics

Music Concerts

Instructional Videos

Student Films