LibGuides: Online Resources: Music Production

Streaming Music Resources

Apple Music
Apple Music is a music and video streaming service developed by Apple Inc. Users select music to stream to their device on-demand, or they can listen to existing playlists. Discounts for Student Memberships!
Hoopla Digital: Music
Instantly borrow and stream digital music 24/7 with a library card. You are required to have a Public Library Card from your public library in order to access this free resource.
Pandora
Pandora is a leading music and podcast discovery platform, providing a highly-personalized listening experience to approximately 70 million users each month with its proprietary Music Genome Project® and Podcast Genome Project® technology - whether at home or on the go - through its mobile app, the web, and integrations with more than 2,000 connected products.
SoundCloud
SoundCloud lets people discover and enjoy the greatest selection of music from the most diverse creator community on earth. In addition, you can upgrade to SOUNDCLOUD GO+ for a price (there are discounts for students).
Spotify
Free music streaming with ads. Upgrade to Premium for a price per month. In addition, there are discounts for Student Memberships.
YouTube Music
YouTube Music is a music streaming service developed by YouTube, a subsidiary of Google. It provides a tailored interface for the service, oriented towards music streaming, allowing users to browse through songs and music videos on YouTube based on genres, playlists, and recommendations.

Music Resources

Learn more about the music industry, get insights from your favorite artists.

Hit Songs Deconstructed This link opens in a new window
The platform offers unparalleled insight into the craft and trends behind today’s hit songs and empowers music industry professionals with actionable data and analysis that can't be found anywhere else. Includes: hit song analytics, industry trends, 200+ compositional filters, hit song analysis, downloadable DAWs, and more!
International Music Score Library Project This link opens in a new window
The International Music Score Library Project, also known as the Petrucci Music Library after publisher Ottaviano Petrucci, is a subscription-based project for the creation of a virtual library of public-domain music scores.
Online Resource
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Only 20 users can use the platform at one time. If no seat is available, you must wait until someone logs off. The most comprehensive classical music streaming platform. An invaluable resource for universities, public libraries, schools, music professionals, and collectors.
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new window
Only 10 users can use the platform at one time. If no seat is available, you must wait until someone logs off. A new and unique streaming video subscription service offering a wide range of full-length videos of concerts, operas, ballets, and documentaries.

Classical Archives
Classical Archives is the largest (and oldest) classical music site in the world. The site was inaugurated in 1994, during the web’s infancy, to offer the most extensive collection of classical music MIDI files. We added live recordings 2001 and have continued to grow ever since. As you can see from the statistics above, we now have over 1,000,000 tracks from over 690 labels. These recordings represent the works of close to 20,000 composers. The site is refreshed weekly with the addition of newly released albums, from which our musicologists carefully prepare a list of selected recommendations.
Fiverr Freelance
Hire a freelancer audio mastering expert services and get your audio project done in 24hr
Mr. Mix and Master
Mr. Mix and Master offers radio-ready quality mixing and mastering services at the world’s most affordable rates. Our multi-platinum mix and master audio engineer, Vinny DeLeon, will take your music to the next level.
Music Theory
Introductory and intermediate music theory lessons, exercises, ear trainers, and calculators.
NAMM Foundation
Sign Up To Receive The NAMM Foundation’s Monthly Email Newsletter. Music Advocacy. Music Education. Music Research. Believe in Music. Music Grants.
Sound Better
SoundBetter is the world’s leading music production marketplace, helping musicians worldwide connect and hire top music pros so they can get to great-sounding release-ready songs. With tens of thousands of top Singers, Producers, Songwriters, Session Musicians and Mixing & Mastering Engineers, including dozens of Grammy award winners, SoundBetter has the most comprehensive database of vetted music production pros for direct hire in the world, and a member community spanning over 14,000 cities worldwide.

Download and Mix Music Tracks and Participate in Music Forums

Free Multitracks to Practice Mixing

Mixing Secrets for the Small Studio

This is an extensive collection of recordings in a wide variety of genres. Think everything from dubstep to orchestral, and from metal to hip-hop. It’s important to keep an open mind as a mixing engineer, especially when working with clients whose music you may not love. I’d encourage anyone to find something in this library that you wouldn’t ordinarily listen to and have a go at mixing it!

Telefunken “Live from the Lab” Sessions

German microphone and pro audio manufacturer Telefunken provides the free multitrack sessions from their music video series, “Live from the Lab.” Each session is recorded at their facility in South Windsor, all with Telefunken microphones (of course!). This is not only a great way to practice mixing, but also the perfect opportunity to “demo” the company’s range of mics.

MixOff.org

MixOff is a forum and community of mixing engineers in which members frequently upload multitrack sessions for others to access. In addition to these sessions, members have the opportunity to discuss techniques, ask questions, and learn from each other–much like how we operate at Produce Like a Pro!

HomeRecording.com’s “Mix This!” Forum

HomeRecording has a forum very similar to MixOff called Mix This!. You can frequently find posts containing multitrack sessions, like one member’s cover of “A Long December” by Counting Crows. Again, this is a supportive community where sharing your own work for others to mix is encouraged.

Produce Like a Pro

Don’t forget that we offer a free bundle of goodies, including multitracks and drum samples, here at Produce Like a Pro!

BenSound
One of my personal favorites, Bensound has music for all of your needs. From uptempo catchy tunes to acoustic music to electronica, you’ll have plenty of instrumental music to choose from.
Free Music Archive
Your #1 resource for free music and royalty-free music. Support creators, reward creativity. All songs on FMA are free to access and download.
more...less...
Totally Free
Free Sound
A free collaborative database of audio samples that are free to use and remix.
Incompetech
Kevin MacLeod offers many royalty free options sorted into a collection for your listening pleasure. From disco to video game classics to rock music, you’re sure to find something suitable for your project.
Moby Gratis
Designated as music for independent filmmakers, MobyGratis offers a lot of high-quality music for filmmaking or other projects.
Musopen
Musopen is a non-profit organization dedicated to sharing recordings, sheet music, and textbooks for musical education. Check out their catalog of royalty free music for recordings for your projects.
Pond 5
Choose from over 2,000 music clips from this creative marketplace. You’ll be sure to have plenty to choose!
Public Domain 4 U
Updated about once a month, Public Domain 4U shares public domain music clips that are royalty free and legally shareable.
Purple Planet Royalty Free Music
Purple Planet offers free music for projects that can be used in exchange for a link back to their website. They also offer premium music for commercial, business, and editorial use.

Music Production

Read daily news and insights regarding the subject of Music Production. This includes Blogs, Magazines, Forums, and Informative Websites that will be handy throughout your school experience at LAFS.

INFORMATIVE WEBSITES

Ableton.com
Free tutorials, downloads and news. They make Live, Push and Link — unique software and hardware for music creation and performance
BPB
BPB is a website about free and affordable music making software. Things like online BPM counters, tuners, virtual instruments and web based music sequencers can be life savers when you’re making music or recording audio outside of your studio.
Deviantnoise.com
A website with a shop where you’ll find links to all our major guides, tools and resources for creating and producing your own music.
EDMTips
Instead of digging through hundreds of magazines and websites, or spending hundreds (or thousands) on expensive music production schools, subscribe to EDMtips (it’s free) and you’ll get proven tips, tricks, techniques and strategies each week, delivered straight to your inbox. Courses must be payed for.
Elphnt
A website with free tutorials and Ableton packs for purchase. ELPHNT helps you make better music with Ableton Live. Get unique and powerful tools to make new sounds and transform your existing ones. Learn creative techniques with tutorials from an Ableton Certified Trainer.
Engadget - Five must have resources for every aspiring music producer
Shop five must-have music production resources to help you get started.
Open Music Library
The Open Music Library is an initiative from Alexander Street to build the world’s largest free index of digital resources for the study of music.
theproaudiofiles.com
The Pro Audio Files, a community of audio professionals from around the world sharing articles, videos and courses on recording, mixing, mastering and producing music. Subscription based website to gain access to courses.

MAGAZINES

Flipster Magazines (EBSCOhost)
Log in with your LAFS username & password to gain access.
Mix
Sound on Sound
Recording
Electronic Musician
Tape Op
ProSound News
Sound & Communications

FORUMS / BLOGS

Audiomentor
A free website for musicians, producers & business people. They write & post music production topics that cover techniques on recording, editing, mixing to mastering your music.
Gearslutz.com
A free forum for professional and amateur recording, mixing/mastering engineers to share techniques and advice.
Midilifestyle.com
A free forum includes all of our top recommendations for producers, from software, to hardware, to educational material.
splice.com/blog
Splice is the leading platform for music production offering access to millions of the best royalty-free samples, loops, and presets; Rent-to-Own plugins & DAWs.

Music Production Published Journals

A Database is a searchable collection of information. You may find databases that the Library is subscribed to, which you will need to access them with your LAFS username and password. Other databases or informational sites listed are public and can be used as open-sourced. Find related and useful material on Music Production here!

Academic Search Elite (EBSCOhost)
Designed to meet every academic researcher's needs, Academic Search Elite provides access to acclaimed full-text scholarly journals and magazines. Log in with your LAFS username & password to gain access.
Business Source Elite (EBSCOhost)
This database provides full-text coverage of top business, management, and economics journals and periodicals. Log in with your LAFS username & password to gain access.bLog in with your LAFS username & password to gain access.
Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals. Access for FREE here!
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an online digital library of education research and information. Log in with your LAFS username & password to gain access.
Film & Television Literature Index (EBSCOhost)
Film & Television Literature Index is a database of all types of writing on film and television, including academic journals, industry and trade papers, news journalism, and popular magazines. Log in with your LAFS username & password to gain access.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust Digital Library is a large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries including content digitized via Google Books and the Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by libraries. FREE open access to journals, books, and other digitized Items that are readily available here!
Henry Stewart Marketing Journals Collection
HS Talks offers access to peer-reviewed vocational journals containing articles and case studies suitable for inclusion in courses, to support projects, and to enhance employability and preparation for the world of work. Log in with your LAFS username & password to gain access.
Hit Songs Deconstructed
Hit Songs Deconstructed provides creatives and music industry professionals with powerful interactive tools, data, and analysis to support their creative process, stay in tune with how today’s hits are evolving, and make strategic songwriting, production, and business decisions. Log in with your LAFS username & password to gain access.
IMDb
IMDb is an online database of information related to films, television programs, home videos, video games, and streaming content online – including cast, production crew, and personal biographies, plot summaries, trivia, ratings, and fan & critical reviews. Free for non-commercial use. Upgrade to Pro for a price per month/year to get more features.
International Journal of Sport Management, Recreation & Tourism
IJSMaRT aims to present current practice and research in the area of sport management and marketing, recreation, and sports tourism. FREE open access journals available here.
International Music Score Library Project
A subscription-based project for the creation of a virtual library of public-domain music scores. Users can exchange musical ideas through the site, submit their own compositions, or listen to other people's compositions.
Regional Business News (EBSCOhost)
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search for newspapers, magazines, and other resources from trusted news sources. Log in with your LAFS username & password to gain access. Log in with your LAFS username & password to gain access.
Smithsonian Open Access
Download, share and reuse millions of the Smithsonian's images. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian's 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo. FREE open access journals available here.
Variety Insight
Variety Insight is the leading entertainment data solution that provides verified, timely, and accurate metadata around people, projects, and companies that work in the global entertainment business. Log in with your LAFS username & password to gain access. *Limit only 50 concurrent users at one time while using the platform.

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Only 20 users can use the platform at one time. If no seat is available, you must wait until someone logs off. The most comprehensive classical music streaming platform. An invaluable resource for universities, public libraries, schools, music professionals, and collectors.
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new window
Only 10 users can use the platform at one time. If no seat is available, you must wait until someone logs off. A new and unique streaming video subscription service offering a wide range of full-length videos of concerts, operas, ballets, and documentaries.