LibGuides: Online Resources: Writing for Film &amp; TV

Writing for Film & TV

Read daily news and insights regarding the subject of Writing for Film & TV. This includes Blogs, Magazines, Forums, and Informative Websites that will be handy throughout your school experience at LAFS.

INFORMATIVE WEBSITES

MAGAZINES

FORUMS / BLOGS

Writing for Film & TV Published Journals

A Database is a searchable collection of information. You may find databases that the Library is subscribed to, which you will need to access them with your LAFS username and password. Other databases or informational sites listed are public and can be used as open-sourced. Find related and useful material on Writing for Film & TV here!

Academic Search Elite (EBSCOhost)
Designed to meet every academic researcher's needs, Academic Search Elite provides access to acclaimed full-text scholarly journals and magazines. Log in with your LAFS username & password to gain access.
Business Source Elite (EBSCOhost)
This database provides full-text coverage of top business, management, and economics journals and periodicals. Log in with your LAFS username & password to gain access.bLog in with your LAFS username & password to gain access.
Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals. Access for FREE here!
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an online digital library of education research and information. Log in with your LAFS username & password to gain access.
Film & Television Literature Index (EBSCOhost)
Film & Television Literature Index is a database of all types of writing on film and television, including academic journals, industry and trade papers, news journalism, and popular magazines. Log in with your LAFS username & password to gain access.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust Digital Library is a large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries including content digitized via Google Books and the Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by libraries. FREE open access to journals, books, and other digitized Items that are readily available here!
Henry Stewart Marketing Journals Collection
HS Talks offers access to peer-reviewed vocational journals containing articles and case studies suitable for inclusion in courses, to support projects, and to enhance employability and preparation for the world of work. Log in with your LAFS username & password to gain access.
Hit Songs Deconstructed
Hit Songs Deconstructed provides creatives and music industry professionals with powerful interactive tools, data, and analysis to support their creative process, stay in tune with how today’s hits are evolving, and make strategic songwriting, production, and business decisions. Log in with your LAFS username & password to gain access.
IMDb
IMDb is an online database of information related to films, television programs, home videos, video games, and streaming content online – including cast, production crew, and personal biographies, plot summaries, trivia, ratings, and fan & critical reviews. Free for non-commercial use. Upgrade to Pro for a price per month/year to get more features.
International Journal of Sport Management, Recreation & Tourism
IJSMaRT aims to present current practice and research in the area of sport management and marketing, recreation, and sports tourism. FREE open access journals available here.
Regional Business News (EBSCOhost)
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search for newspapers, magazines, and other resources from trusted news sources. Log in with your LAFS username & password to gain access. Log in with your LAFS username & password to gain access.
Smithsonian Open Access
Download, share and reuse millions of the Smithsonian's images. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian's 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo. FREE open access journals available here.
Variety Insight
Variety Insight is the leading entertainment data solution that provides verified, timely, and accurate metadata around people, projects, and companies that work in the global entertainment business. Log in with your LAFS username & password to gain access. *Limit only 50 concurrent users at one time while using the platform.
International Music Score Library Project
A subscription-based project for the creation of a virtual library of public-domain music scores. Users can exchange musical ideas through the site, submit their own compositions, or listen to other people's compositions.