Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Resources: Home

A Guide that lists all resources by theme/category.

ONLINE RESOURCES

GENERAL & INFORMATIVE WEBSITES

General News, Informational, and Educational Websites

Informative & Free Resources Websites

These curated and educational websites contain a lot of FREE content in many different subject areas. Visit these recommended websites to view and download free courses, audiobooks, ebooks, movies & more!

INSTRUCTIONAL LEARNING COURSES

Learning Courses

WRITING & GRAMMAR

Writing & Grammar Resources

Enhance your writing with these helpful free to low costing resources!

SCREENPLAYS & SCREENWRITING

Screenplays & Treatments Resources

Screenwriting Blogs

BOOKS

Book Resources

GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMICS

Graphic Novels & Comics Resources

ANIMATION TOOLS

Animation Resources

STREAMING MEDIA

Streaming Video Resources

This library guide highlights free educational streaming movies, tv shows, and clips that you can view in your courses or use for research.

Copyright Protection: Streaming videos and audios cannot be downloaded to your computer. The owners of the content give you the right to view or listen to the files in real-time. However, the rights to save, copy or distribute the files are held by the copyright owner and protected by law.

Fair Use: As long as you view or listen to these files as part of a class session or by yourself, you are covered under fair use.  

Public Performance: We do not have public performance rights for any of these streaming videos or audios. For example, a group of students who watch one of these videos during a college student club or organizational meeting would not be covered under fair use. That would be considered a public performance.

See Swank's brochure, "Film and Video Copyright Infringement: What Your College or University Needs to Know About the Public Performance of Movies," for more information.

LEISURE & SPORTS ENTERTAINMENT

Leisure & Sports Entertainment

ORGANIZATIONAL TOOLS

Organizational Tools and Resources

DICTIONARIES & ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Dictionary & Encyclopedia Websites

CAREERS & JOBS

Career & Job Websites

AUDIO

Audio Resources

Download royalty-free music beats and audio effects for your projects! Some tunes may require you to credit the source.  

MUSIC

Music Resources

Learn more about the music industry, get insights from your favorite artists. 

Download and Mix Music Tracks and Participate in Music Forums

Free Multitracks to Practice Mixing

Mixing Secrets for the Small Studio

This is an extensive collection of recordings in a wide variety of genres. Think everything from dubstep to orchestral, and from metal to hip-hop. It’s important to keep an open mind as a mixing engineer, especially when working with clients whose music you may not love. I’d encourage anyone to find something in this library that you wouldn’t ordinarily listen to and have a go at mixing it!

Telefunken “Live from the Lab” Sessions

German microphone and pro audio manufacturer Telefunken provides the free multitrack sessions from their music video series, “Live from the Lab.” Each session is recorded at their facility in South Windsor, all with Telefunken microphones (of course!). This is not only a great way to practice mixing, but also the perfect opportunity to “demo” the company’s range of mics.

MixOff.org

MixOff is a forum and community of mixing engineers in which members frequently upload multitrack sessions for others to access. In addition to these sessions, members have the opportunity to discuss techniques, ask questions, and learn from each other–much like how we operate at Produce Like a Pro!

HomeRecording.com’s “Mix This!” Forum

HomeRecording has a forum very similar to MixOff called Mix This!. You can frequently find posts containing multitrack sessions, like one member’s cover of “A Long December” by Counting Crows. Again, this is a supportive community where sharing your own work for others to mix is encouraged.

Produce Like a Pro

Don’t forget that we offer a free bundle of goodies, including multitracks and drum samples, here at Produce Like a Pro!

Streaming Music Resources

ART & STOCK IMAGES

Art Collections

Stock Images

DESIGN & VISUAL MEDIA TOOLS

Design & Visual Media Tools

Create designs for all your posts, flyers, and visual needs! 

Get Inspired

 Here are inspiring visual design tools that will get your creative mojo flowing! 

MEDIA COMMUNICATIONS

Informational Websites on Media Communications

Read daily news and insights regarding the subject of Media Communications. This includes Blogs, Magazines, Forums, and Informative Websites that will be handy throughout your school experience at LAFS.

BROADCASTING AND JOURNALISM RESOURCES

These are some resources for broadcasting and journalism information and trends.

Journalist's Resource: Knowledge-based Reporting 

Carnegie-Knight Initiative on the Future of Journalism Education.

FactCheck.org 

A website from the Annenberg Public Policy Center at the University of Pennsylvania

Journalist's Toolbox 

Web resource from the Society of Professional Journalists

Nieman Reports: Covering Thought Leadership in Journalism 

From the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University

Poynter Online 

Poynter Institute - News and training opportunities for journalists

Pew Research Center Journalism & Media 

The portion of Pew Research focused on news and media analysis studies

Online News Association 

Association for professional journalists -- those who gather and produce news for digital presentation 

ADVERTISING AND PUBLIC RELATIONS RESOURCES 

These are some resources for broadcasting and journalism information and trends.

Adweek 

Online resource to stay current with trends in advertising.

Social Media Examiner

Resource for staying informed about new opportunities and trends in social media.

American Marketing Association

Main professional organization for marketers in the U.S.

Designmodo

Collection of website and email marketing resources.

Social Media Today

Trend and tool information for social media.

Social Media Magazine

An online social media magazine covering a wide variety of social media topics.

Social Media Lab

An online publication that publishes its own research based on experiments it invests in over many different social platforms.

INFORMATIVE WEBSITES

MAGAZINES

FORUMS / BLOGS

Published Journals & Other Informative Databases on Media Communications

A Database is a searchable collection of information. You may find databases that the Library is subscribed to, which you will need to access them with your LAFS username and password. Other databases or informational sites listed are public and can be used as open-sourced. Find related and useful material on Media Communications here! 

ENTERTAINMENT BUSINESS

Informational Websites on Entertainment Business

Read daily news and insights regarding the subject of the Entertainment Business. This includes Blogs, Magazines, Forums, and Informative Websites that will be handy throughout your school experience at LAFS.

INFORMATIVE WEBSITES

MAGAZINES

FORUMS / BLOGS

Published Journals & Other Informative Databases on Entertainment Business

A Database is a searchable collection of information. You may find databases that the Library is subscribed to, which you will need to access them with your LAFS username and password. Other databases or informational sites listed are public and can be used as open-sourced. Find related and useful material on Entertainment Business here! 

Entertainment Business (Paid)

ANIMATION & VISUAL EFFECTS

Informational Websites on Animation & Visual Effects

Read daily news and insights regarding the subject of Animation & Visual Effects. This includes Blogs, Magazines, Forums, and Informative Websites that will be handy throughout your school experience at LAFS.

INFORMATIVE WEBSITES

MAGAZINES

FORUMS / BLOGS

Published Journals & Other Informative Databases on Animation & Visual Effects

A Database is a searchable collection of information. You may find databases that the Library is subscribed to, which you will need to access them with your LAFS username and password. Other databases or informational sites listed are public and can be used as open-sourced. Find related and useful material on Animation & Visual Effects here! 

Animation Software Tools

https://www.oberlo.com/blog/free-animation-software

 

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Informational Websites on Graphic Design

Read daily news and insights regarding the subject of Graphic Design. This includes Blogs, Magazines, Forums, and Informative Websites that will be handy throughout your school experience at LAFS.

INFORMATIVE WEBSITES

MAGAZINES

FORUMS / BLOGS

Published Journals & Other Informative Databases on Graphic Design

A Database is a searchable collection of information. You may find databases that the Library is subscribed to, which you will need to access them with your LAFS username and password. Other databases or informational sites listed are public and can be used as open-sourced. Find related and useful material on Graphic Design here! 

FILM PRODUCTION

Informational Websites on Film Production

Read daily news and insights regarding the subject of Film Production. This includes Blogs, Magazines, Forums, and Informative Websites that will be handy throughout your school experience at LAFS.

INFORMATIVE WEBSITES

MAGAZINES

FORUMS / BLOGS

Published Journals & Other Informative Databases on Film Production

A Database is a searchable collection of information. You may find databases that the Library is subscribed to, which you will need to access them with your LAFS username and password. Other databases or informational sites listed are public and can be used as open-sourced. Find related and useful material on Film Production here! 

WRITING FOR FILM & TV

Informational Websites on Writing for Film & TV

Read daily news and insights regarding the subject of Writing for Film & TV. This includes Blogs, Magazines, Forums, and Informative Websites that will be handy throughout your school experience at LAFS.

INFORMATIVE WEBSITES

MAGAZINES

FORUMS / BLOGS

Published Journals & Other Informative Databases on Writing for Film & TV

A Database is a searchable collection of information. You may find databases that the Library is subscribed to, which you will need to access them with your LAFS username and password. Other databases or informational sites listed are public and can be used as open-sourced. Find related and useful material on Writing for Film & TV here! 

AUDIO PRODUCTION

Informational Websites on Audio Production

Read daily news and insights regarding the subject of Audio Production. This includes Blogs, Magazines, Forums, and Informative Websites that will be handy throughout your school experience at LAFS.

INFORMATIVE WEBSITES

MAGAZINES

FORUMS / BLOGS

Published Journals & Other Informative Databases on Audio Production

A Database is a searchable collection of information. You may find databases that the Library is subscribed to, which you will need to access them with your LAFS username and password. Other databases or informational sites listed are public and can be used as open-sourced. Find related and useful material on Audio Production here! 

MUSIC PRODUCTION

Informational Websites on Music Production

Read daily news and insights regarding the subject of Music Production. This includes Blogs, Magazines, Forums, and Informative Websites that will be handy throughout your school experience at LAFS.

INFORMATIVE WEBSITES

MAGAZINES

FORUMS / BLOGS

Published Journals & Other Informative Databases on Music Production

A Database is a searchable collection of information. You may find databases that the Library is subscribed to, which you will need to access them with your LAFS username and password. Other databases or informational sites listed are public and can be used as open-sourced. Find related and useful material on Music Production here! 

Tech