Read daily news and insights regarding the subject of Media Communications. This includes Blogs, Magazines, Forums, and Informative Websites that will be handy throughout your school experience at LAFS.
BROADCASTING AND JOURNALISM RESOURCES
These are some resources for broadcasting and journalism information and trends.
Journalist's Resource: Knowledge-based Reporting
Carnegie-Knight Initiative on the Future of Journalism Education.
FactCheck.org
A website from the Annenberg Public Policy Center at the University of Pennsylvania
Journalist's Toolbox
Web resource from the Society of Professional Journalists
Nieman Reports: Covering Thought Leadership in Journalism
From the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University
Poynter Online
Poynter Institute - News and training opportunities for journalists
Pew Research Center Journalism & Media
The portion of Pew Research focused on news and media analysis studies
Online News Association
Association for professional journalists -- those who gather and produce news for digital presentation
ADVERTISING AND PUBLIC RELATIONS RESOURCES
These are some resources for broadcasting and journalism information and trends.
Adweek
Online resource to stay current with trends in advertising.
Social Media Examiner
Resource for staying informed about new opportunities and trends in social media.
American Marketing Association
Main professional organization for marketers in the U.S.
Designmodo
Collection of website and email marketing resources.
Social Media Today
Trend and tool information for social media.
Social Media Magazine
An online social media magazine covering a wide variety of social media topics.
Social Media Lab
An online publication that publishes its own research based on experiments it invests in over many different social platforms.
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and SciencesThe preeminent resource for excellence in motion picture arts. It is free to look through their website.
All MovieAll Movie is an in-depth, comprehensive resource for finding out more about movies, actors, and filmmakers.
American Film InstituteThe American Film Institute's mission is to preserve the heritage of the motion picture. It is a non-profit art education organization. There is plenty of free content to look through, but most of their articles and blogs are behind a paywall and membership - a minimum of $40.
links
Anatomy of a SceneFrom The New York Times. In this series, directors discuss ideas and techniques behind scenes in their films. The New York Times is currently free to watch and read their articles but membership is available for even more content.
British Academy of Film and Television ArtsThe British Academy of Film and Television Arts is an independent charity that supports, develops and promotes the art forms of the moving image by identifying and rewarding excellence, inspiring practitioners and benefiting the public. While there are some articles that are available for free, one has to be apart of the film and television industry and have to be working for a period of time before one can get a membership. It is the UK's version of SAG-AFTRA.
Casting NetworksCasting Networks, LLC is the leading provider of casting and audition management software to the casting industry. Casting directors and agents worldwide use Casting Networks to source and manage talent across film, television, digital, and commercials projects facilitating over a million auditions per year. Headquartered in Los Angeles with offices in New York, London, and Sydney. Creating a casting account is free and gives you access to all sorts of information and articles useful to you during your entertainment journey.
Envato Market - Audio JungleRoyalty free music and audio tracks from $1.
Discover more than 1,420,617 tracks and sounds from our community of musicians and sound engineers.
Envato Market - Photo DuneDiscover millions of royalty-free stock photos. Unique stock photos for every budget and every project. Very low budget and nearly free.
Envato Market - Video HiveRoyalty-free videos and templates created by video professionals from all over the world. Discover more than 1,834,060 Video effects and stock footage. Very low budget per effect/stock footage clip.
Film L.A For Outside ProductionEach year, thousands of visitors to Los Angeles take tours of studio backlots to see where their favorite movies and TV shows are filmed. Many of those visitors, and locals alike, may not realize that much of the region’s film production takes place not on a sound-stage, but rather in one of L.A.’s many diverse neighborhoods. Filming outside of a certified soundstage or studio backlot requires a permit from the city, county, and/or other local jurisdiction.
Film SourcingFILMMAKING RESOURCES Film production paperwork, movie poster templates, EPK templates, fake brands for a film. All original, hi-res and editable. 70 + files. Signing up is Free.
Free Music ArchiveYour #1 resource for free music and royalty-free music. Support creators, reward creativity. All songs on FMA are free to access and download. There is also a premium content option for $5 a month.
Margaret Herrick Library Digital CollectionsCurrently, the database contains more than 6,500 items, including correspondence, photographs, early release fliers, full issues of rare periodicals, sheet music, lobby cards and movie star ephemera. The database also includes complete copies of more than 450 Academy publications, dating back to the founding of the organization in 1927. Free for anyone to use.
Internet Movie DatabaseAn online database of information related to movies, television shows, actors, production crew personnel, video games, and fictional characters featured in visual entertainment media. You can use for free, but premium content requires membership and subscription.
Internet Movie Script DatabaseThe database contains hundreds of scripts for movies. Searchable by title, alphabetical listing, and by genre. Free to use.
Mazwai Free Movie ClipsStunning free stock footage clips, hand-picked by our in-house team of video professionals. Simple licensing and no sign-up required.
Official California Film WebsiteThe California Film Commission (CFC) enhances California’s status as the leader in motion picture, television, and commercial production. A one-stop office for filmmakers, we support productions of all sizes and budgets with location assistance and our extensive digital location library, free online permitting, low-cost use of state properties as shooting locations, and production assistance. We also administer the state’s Film & Television Tax Credit Program and serve as primary liaison between productions and all levels of government to eliminate barriers to filming.
Flipster Magazines (EBSCOhost)Log in with your LAFS username & password to gain access.
BackstageFor over 50 years, Backstage has served as the #1 resource for performers to find work while helping talent-seekers move their projects forward. Our 100,000+ members represent a powerful network of entertainment professionals who leverage our unlimited submissions, best-in-class casting tools, and more performance roles than any other casting service. You can join for free, but the membership for a year and the magazine subscription is $150, but they have deals constantly to lower that price.
Detonation Films Directory of Effects FootageIf you need footage of special effects – think explosions, dust and smoke clouds, bullet hits and blood splatter – then Detonation Films Stock is for you.
Documentary Films.NetThis site provides documentary film information and resources to both viewers and filmmakers. Reviews, festivals, filmmaker resources. It's completely free and the forum has a great discussion about documentary filming and movies alike.
Film FreewayThe world’s #1 way to enter film festivals and screenplay contests. Free to sign up and most festivals are free to enter.
Internet Encyclopedia of CinematographersBiographies and filmographies of international cinematographers. Free for anyone to read.
Movie Locations GuideThe ultimate travel guide to film locations around the world. Here you can find original location photographs, trivia, links, and travel details. completely free to browse and read.
New York Film Academy TipsThe New York Film Academy was founded by veteran producer Jerry Sherlock in 1992, who produced such classics as "The Hunt for the Red October". Encouraged by friends of his who wanted to send their children to film school, but found the prices too costly, Sherlock designed a school that was not only affordable but more importantly, was founded on the principle of learning by doing. The site is free to browse the articles.
