This Music Subject Guide will help you connect to many resources involving with and relating to music production. Students will focus on music theory, genres, composition, digital music production and music recording, and mixing and mastering for various media. Included with this focus on the creative aspects of music production are courses in entertainment business structure, industry conventions and intellectual property.
The goal is to provide the student with the knowledge and understanding of music production technology and the skills and concepts needed to qualify graduates for entry-level industry positions such as music recording engineers, MIDI/digital audio workstation operators and programmers, music editors, music supervisors, music arrangers, and composers for film, video games, multimedia content, and a variety of other positions in the audio and entertainment industries.
You can stream free titles instantly through your desktop browser or our mobile app when logging in with your local Public Library's credentials.
Internet Archive: Movies and Film
A collection of freely available full-length feature films, classic shorts, world culture documentaries, World War II propaganda, movie trailers, and films.
A on-demand streaming video platform for public libraries and universities that offers films and documentaries.
A small but quality selection of streaming films. You can limit by genre, production year, duration, and more.
The comprehensive streaming and downloadable film collection of UbuWeb, a clearinghouse for all things avant-garde. Dive in...
A Record Producer or Music Producer oversees and manages the sound recording and production of a band or performer's music, which may range from recording one song to recording a lengthy concept album. A producer has many, varying roles during the recording process.
A Composer is a musician who is an author of music in any form, including vocal music, instrumental music, electronic music, and music which combines multiple forms. A composer may create music in any music genre, including, for example, classical music, musical theater, blues, folk music, jazz, and other popular music.
Read daily news and insights regarding the subject of Music Production. This includes Blogs, Magazines, Forums, and Informative Websites that will be handy throughout your school experience at LAFS.
INFORMATIVE WEBSITES
MAGAZINES
FORUMS / BLOGS
A Database is a searchable collection of information. You may find databases that the Library is subscribed to, which you will need to access them with your LAFS username and password. Other databases or informational sites listed are public and can be used as open-sourced. Find related and useful material on Music Production here!
To help locate books in a particular subject, the following LOC sections in the Library are as follows:
ML Music.
TR Animated Motion Pictures. Editing of Motion Pictures. Books on technical areas of film-like editing, cinematography, and most of the technology-related film books.
Please make sure you are logged into your LAFILM.EDU Google account in order to view these resources.
The Mixing Engineer's Handbook by 
All You Need to Know about the Music Business by Free Multitracks to Practice Mixing
Mixing Secrets for the Small Studio
This is an extensive collection of recordings in a wide variety of genres. Think everything from dubstep to orchestral, and from metal to hip-hop. It’s important to keep an open mind as a mixing engineer, especially when working with clients whose music you may not love. I’d encourage anyone to find something in this library that you wouldn’t ordinarily listen to and have a go at mixing it!
Telefunken “Live from the Lab” Sessions
German microphone and pro audio manufacturer Telefunken provides the free multitrack sessions from their music video series, “Live from the Lab.” Each session is recorded at their facility in South Windsor, all with Telefunken microphones (of course!). This is not only a great way to practice mixing, but also the perfect opportunity to “demo” the company’s range of mics.
MixOff is a forum and community of mixing engineers in which members frequently upload multitrack sessions for others to access. In addition to these sessions, members have the opportunity to discuss techniques, ask questions, and learn from each other–much like how we operate at Produce Like a Pro!
HomeRecording.com’s “Mix This!” Forum
HomeRecording has a forum very similar to MixOff called Mix This!. You can frequently find posts containing multitrack sessions, like one member’s cover of “A Long December” by Counting Crows. Again, this is a supportive community where sharing your own work for others to mix is encouraged.
Don’t forget that we offer a free bundle of goodies, including multitracks and drum samples, here at Produce Like a Pro!
