This Media Communications Subject Guide will help you understand and contribute to the field of media communications and to use new media communication technologies. The courses in the Media Communications curriculum are designed to prepare students for a wide variety of entry-level jobs in media and associated fields where media knowledge and skills are an integral part of their operations. Dramatic changes in communication and technology have influenced every aspect of human culture, including family life, politics, business, international relations, religion, education, entertainment, and recreation. Learn to create share-worthy digital content that not only gets your message across but makes an impact.
This library guide highlights free educational streaming movies, tv shows, and clips that you can view in your courses or use for research.
Copyright Protection: Streaming videos and audios cannot be downloaded to your computer. The owners of the content give you the right to view or listen to the files in real-time. However, the rights to save, copy or distribute the files are held by the copyright owner and protected by law.
Fair Use: As long as you view or listen to these files as part of a class session or by yourself, you are covered under fair use.
Public Performance: We do not have public performance rights for any of these streaming videos or audios. For example, a group of students who watch one of these videos during a college student club or organizational meeting would not be covered under fair use. That would be considered a public performance.
See Swank's brochure, "Film and Video Copyright Infringement: What Your College or University Needs to Know About the Public Performance of Movies," for more information.
Media is the communication outlets or tools used to store and deliver information or data. The term refers to components of the mass media communications industry, such as print media, publishing, the news media, photography, cinema, broadcasting (radio and television), and advertising.
Read daily news and insights regarding the subject of Media Communications. This includes Blogs, Magazines, Forums, and Informative Websites that will be handy throughout your school experience at LAFS.
BROADCASTING AND JOURNALISM RESOURCES
These are some resources for broadcasting and journalism information and trends.
Journalist's Resource: Knowledge-based Reporting
Carnegie-Knight Initiative on the Future of Journalism Education.
A website from the Annenberg Public Policy Center at the University of Pennsylvania
Web resource from the Society of Professional Journalists
Nieman Reports: Covering Thought Leadership in Journalism
From the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University
Poynter Institute - News and training opportunities for journalists
Pew Research Center Journalism & Media
The portion of Pew Research focused on news and media analysis studies
Association for professional journalists -- those who gather and produce news for digital presentation
ADVERTISING AND PUBLIC RELATIONS RESOURCES
These are some resources for broadcasting and journalism information and trends.
Online resource to stay current with trends in advertising.
Resource for staying informed about new opportunities and trends in social media.
American Marketing Association
Main professional organization for marketers in the U.S.
Collection of website and email marketing resources.
Trend and tool information for social media.
An online social media magazine covering a wide variety of social media topics.
An online publication that publishes its own research based on experiments it invests in over many different social platforms.
INFORMATIVE WEBSITES
MAGAZINES
FORUMS / BLOGS
A Database is a searchable collection of information. You may find databases that the Library is subscribed to, which you will need to access them with your LAFS username and password. Other databases or informational sites listed are public and can be used as open-sourced. Find related and useful material on Media Communications here!
To help locate books in a particular subject, the following LOC sections in the Library are as follows:
P87-96 Communication. Mass media.
Please make sure you are logged into your LAFILM.EDU Google account in order to view these resources.
Slide:ology by 
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications by Create designs for all your posts, flyers, and visual needs!
