LibGuides: Graphic Design Subject Guide: Home

Quick Links

EBSCO Academic Search Elite
A rich resource spanning a broad stretch of academic subjects, including Animation, with thousands of full-text journals and abstracted and indexed journals.
LinkedIn Learning
Search and learn tutorials about Animation through LinkedIn Learning. Remember to log in using your lafilm.edu account and connect to your LinkedIn profile to start learning.

Flipster Magazines (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Access leading digital magazines on your mobile device with Flipster, the digital magazine newsstand from EBSCO - courtesy of your local library.

Magazine Websites

Streaming Media on the Web

Internet Archive: Animation and Cartoons
A collection of freely available animated films, from classic cartoons to computer animation and beyond.
National Film Board of Canada
A small but quality selection of streaming films. You can limit by genre, production year, duration, and more.
UbuWeb Film & Video
The comprehensive streaming and downloadable film collection of UbuWeb, a clearinghouse for all things avant-garde. Dive in...
Videoart.net: Animation
The animation collection of Videoart, an international network for video artists and experimental filmmakers.
Vimeo Animation
Vimeo is a popular platform for animators to share and discover work. Here you can browse user-uploaded videos in the "Animation" category.

What is Graphic Design?

Graphic design is the process of visual communication and problem-solving through the use of typography, photography, and illustration. The field is considered a subset of visual communication and communication design, but sometimes the term "graphic design" is used synonymously.

Graphic Design Online Resources

The internet can be a wild place, but there are lots of freely-available gems that are useful to Graphic Design research. Here are some hand-selected, librarian-approved websites.

Artstation
Artsation is a whole new way of discovering and collecting contemporary art online. artsation presents an exclusive collection of works for sale by the biggest names in the market, together with a hand-picked selection of works by the hottest new talent.
Befont
Free Fonts are here! High quality design resources for free. And helps introduce first time customers to your products with free font downloads and allow them to try before they buy, it also allows your existing customer to get a free font treat every day!
Behance Graphic Design and Job Opertunities
Showcase your work. Find new inspiration, hand-picked just for you.
Burst Shopify
Burst is a free stock photo platform that is powered by Shopify. Our image library includes thousands of high-resolution, royalty-free images that were shot by our global community of photographers.
Canva
Canva is a simplified graphic-design tool, which uses a drag-and-drop format and provides access to photographs, vector images, graphics, and fonts. The tools can be used for both web and print media design and graphics.
Coverr
Coverr was a side project that we built in order to provide entrepreneurs like us with Free beautiful looking videos, for the products they were building. As filmmakers ourselves, we loved shooting footage in our spare time and give it to the world. Since then, Veed.me was acquired by Fiverr which is where we roll these days. In the meantime, we keep growing Coverr as our side project.
Creative Bloq
Creative Bloq delivers a daily mix of advice and inspiration for digital and traditional artists, web designers, graphic designers, 3D and VFX artists, illustrators, and more. We bring the very best creative work to our audience and offer the insight that enables them to keep up to date with the latest trends and developments in global design and to create their best work.
Dafont
Archive of freely downloadable fonts. Browse by alphabetical listing, by style, by author or by popularity.
Flaticon
We love helping you bring ideas to life. We want to grow every day. Our goal is to offer the best high-quality content: illustrations, photos, icons, mockups, and presentations templates
Icons 8
clean, trendy look to your designs. Alongside with stock photos, free icon packs, and free music, we are determined to build a design platform and change the way people create things
Kids' Computer Essentials: Graphic Design
A blog from the U.S. Career Institute, that focuses on several topics to help young students with learning about certain topics. This particular blog is about Graphic Design (creating logos, designing posters, making book covers on a computer, etc).
Life of Vids
Free videos for personal & commercial uses. New videos added weekly! High-resolution videos for free for U on our VIMEO.
Lukas Zadam
Welcome to my free illustration library. Here you’ll find MIT licensed SVG illustration images in different shapes & styles. If you don't want to miss any upcoming illustration, join my Facebook group now.
The Noun Project
The most diverse collection of icons ever. Download SVG and PNG. Millions of free icons or unlimited royalty-free icons with NounPro.
Pexels
Free stock photos you can use everywhere. Free for commercial use. No attribution required.
Pickbest
Pikbest is a high-quality design templates platform. We are trying our best to make Graphic design more easier than ever. With the help of our work you can create the most impressive designs and bring your ideas to life.
Raw Pixel
Rawpixel is smashing stereotypes to create design resources that reflect today’s society as it really is. To achieve this, we’re obsessed with exploring new ways to express concepts with creativity and authenticity.
Stock Snap
Whether you're building a business website, creating a print brochure, crafting a digital or magazine ad, or some other brilliant creative project, you know that a great image helps your content transcend "good" and become "great." Compelling, eye-catching, attention-grabbing work on the web especially needs sharp, arresting visual images to succeed.
Tuts Plus
Take your graphic design and illustration skills to a new level! You can find thousands of free tutorials on every design topic under the sun, from making Photoshop actions to designing a classy corporate brochure in InDesign or completing your own vector illustration
Unsplash
Over 1 million free high-resolution images brought to you by the world’s most generous community of photographers