This Film Subject Guide will help you connect to many resources involving with and relating to filmmaking and digital filmmaking. Learn film theory and understand the craft needed to qualify for entry-level, industry positions including, independent filmmakers, production assistants, editors, sound designers, assistant directors, unit production managers, art directors, video editors, lighting technicians, director’s assistants, dialogue editors, and a variety of other positions in the film and entertainment industry. Develop team-building skills necessary for the film industry, including these four-degree tracks offered in the bachelor’s program Cinematography, Directing, Producing and Production.
This library guide highlights free educational streaming movies, tv shows, and clips that you can view in your courses or use for research.
Copyright Protection: Streaming videos and audios cannot be downloaded to your computer. The owners of the content give you the right to view or listen to the files in real-time. However, the rights to save, copy or distribute the files are held by the copyright owner and protected by law.
Fair Use: As long as you view or listen to these files as part of a class session or by yourself, you are covered under fair use.
Public Performance: We do not have public performance rights for any of these streaming videos or audios. For example, a group of students who watch one of these videos during a college student club or organizational meeting would not be covered under fair use. That would be considered a public performance.
See Swank's brochure, "Film and Video Copyright Infringement: What Your College or University Needs to Know About the Public Performance of Movies," for more information.
Filmmaking (or Film Production) is the process of making a film, generally in the sense of films intended for extensive theatrical exhibition. Filmmaking involves a number of discrete stages including an initial story, idea, or commission, through screenwriting, casting, shooting, sound recording and pre-production, editing, and screening the finished product before an audience that may result in a film release and exhibition.
The internet can be a wild place, but there are lots of freely-available gems that are useful to filmmaking research. Here are some hand-selected, librarian-approved resources and databases.
To help locate books in a particular subject, the following LOC sections in the Library are as follows:
PN Motion Pictures. Books on radio, television and film studies. Mostly related to history, screenwriting, and analysis
TR Animated Motion Pictures. Editing of Motion Pictures. Books on technical areas of film-like editing, cinematography, and most of the technology-related film books.
Please make sure you are logged into your LAFILM.EDU Google account in order to view these resources.
Cinematography: Theory and Practice by 
Directing Actors by 
Film Directing Shot by Shot by 
The Filmmaker's Handbook by Enhance your writing with these helpful free to low costing resources!
A Database is a searchable collection of information. You may find databases that the Library is subscribed to, which you will need to access them with your LAFS username and password. Other databases or informational sites listed are public and can be used as open-sourced. Find related and useful material on Film Production here!
Read daily news and insights regarding the subject of Film Production. This includes Blogs, Magazines, Forums, and Informative Websites that will be handy throughout your school experience at LAFS.
INFORMATIVE WEBSITES
MAGAZINES
FORUMS / BLOGS