LibGuides: Audio Subject Guide: Home

Quick Links

A-Z Database
List of all databases hosted by the LAFS Library.
EBSCO Academic Search Elite
A rich resource spanning a broad stretch of academic subjects, including Filmmaking with thousands of full-text journals and abstracted and indexed journals.
LinkedIn Learning
Search and learn tutorials about Audio and Music through LinkedIn Learning. Remember to log in using your lafilm.edu account and connect to your LinkedIn profile to start learning.
Naxos Music Library
Complete catalogues or selected recordings of over 800 labels.
ProSound Effects
Pro Sound Effects develops highly curated sound effects libraries for sound artists, editors, designers, audio engineers, media companies, schools and nonprofits.

Magazines

Streaming Media

You can stream free titles instantly through your desktop browser or our mobile app when logging in with your local Public Library's credentials.

Internet Archive: Movies and Film

A collection of freely available full-length feature films, classic shorts, world culture documentaries, World War II propaganda, movie trailers, and films.

Kanopy

A on-demand streaming video platform for public libraries and universities that offers films and documentaries.

National Film Board of Canada

A small but quality selection of streaming films. You can limit by genre, production year, duration, and more.

UbuWeb Film & Video

The comprehensive streaming and downloadable film collection of UbuWeb, a clearinghouse for all things avant-garde. Dive in...

Vimeo

Vimeo is a popular platform for animators to share and discover work. Here you can browse all user-uploaded videos.

YouTube

Watch the latest and greatest hits on YouTube, either for rent, purchase, or watch for free.

What is Audio Production?

Audio post production is all stages of audio production relating to sound produced and synchronized with moving picture (film, television, or video). It involves sound design, effects, Foley, ADR, sound editing, audio mixing, etc.

Audio Production Online Resources

The internet can be a wild place, but there are lots of freely-available gems that are useful to audio production research. Here are some hand-selected, librarian-approved resources and databases.

Audioblocks
Storyblocks is your one-stop shop for royalty-free stock audio. Our unlimited member library provides all the music, sound effects, and loops to build your story.
BBC Sound Effects Library
These 16,000 BBC Sound Effects are made available by the BBC in WAV format to download for use under the terms of the RemArc Licence. The sound effects and field recordings from the BBC Archive are available to listen/download and can be used for personal, educational or research-based needs.
Brian Funk
Brian Funk is a New York-based musician, producer, and Ableton Certified Trainer. His website has countless tutorials on different audio software with helpful tips and tricks on how to elevate audio to the next level.
Elphnt
ELPHNT helps you make better music with Ableton Live. Get unique and powerful tools to make new sounds and transform your existing ones. Learn creative techniques with tutorials from an Ableton Certified Trainer.
Free SFX
This web site provides free sound effects that you are able to use in any commercial, non-commercial, broadcast multimedia/audio visual production.
Freesound Database
Freesound is a collaborative database of Creative Commons Licensed sounds. Browse, download and share sounds.
Goldbaby
With a passion for vintage drum machines, synthesizers, vinyl, tape and music technology, Goldbaby has a fantastic reputation for creating useful and interesting instruments for use in many different genres of music.
Juno 106
106.js is an emulation of the classic Roland Juno-106 analog synthesizer. Minimum window size of 1024x768. Please use an updated version of Google Chrome.
Keyboard Mag
Keyboard takes you inside the recording studio and on tour with the world’s finest music makers. Every issue includes feature articles on recording artists, producers, and master players, plus product reviews, music news, gear giveaways, and more.
MacproVideo
macProVideo.com is an online education community for creative computer users. Our courses focus on artistic skills like Making Music, Video Editing, Graphic Design, 3D Modelling & Game Dev, Photography, and Web/Computer Programming. Created by artists, for artists, macProVideo.com is dedicated to helping YOU realize your dreams by learning new & inspiring computer skills.
Mode Audio
ModeAudio aims to deliver audio tools that sound incredible, are available instantly and that will integrate seamlessly with your favourite music software.
Music Brainz
MusicBrainz is an open music encyclopedia that collects music metadata and makes it available to the public.
Music Radar
MusicRadar is the number 1 website for music makers of all kinds, be they guitarists, drummers, keyboard players, djs or producers. We also provide tuition, from bite-sized tips to advanced work-outs and guidance from recognised musicians and stars.
Open Music Library
The Open Music Library is an initiative from Alexander Street to build the world’s largest free index of digital resources for the study of music.
Patatap
Patatap is a portable animation and sound kit. With the touch of a finger create melodies charged with moving shapes. Warning: contains flashing images.
The Pro Audio Files
Pro Audio Files is a community of audio professionals from around the world sharing articles, videos and courses on recording, mixing, mastering and producing music.
Splice Blog
Splice is a cloud-based music creation and collaboration platform, which integrates with key digital audio workstations to offer automated online backup with version control, online and offline collaboration as well as visualization of the creation process.
Tuts Plus
Discover thousands of free tutorials covering all aspects of music and audio, from songwriting to audio production. Follow our expert instructors who'll help you become more productive and effective.
Web Synth
WebSynths.com is a FREE, browser-based musical instrument, optimized for microtonal experimentation on multi-touch devices.

LOC Call Numbers

To help locate books in a particular subject, the following LOC sections in the Library are as follows:

PN Motion Pictures. Books on radio, television and film studies. Mostly related to history, screenwriting, and analysis

TR Animated Motion Pictures. Editing of Motion Pictures. Books on technical areas of film-like editing, cinematography, and most of the technology-related film books.